Department of Justice

The Department of Justice was set up towards the end of 2014 by means of Legal Notice 402.14.

The functions of the Department are those of co-ordinating, supporting and monitoring those areas in the justice sector which do not fall under the remit of the Courts of Justice Department​ but which however pertain to the administration of justice, thereby enabling the Courts of Justice Department​​ to focus more on Court management and judicial proceedings.

Our Mission Statement
To co-ordinate, support and monitor the functions of a number of areas in the justice sector within the Department of Justice’s remit.

Our Objectives
    • to provide support and advice to the Ministry responsible for Justice on matters relating to justice affairs;
• to provide support services to entities in the justice system;
    • to compile and maintain an updated register of persons interested in serving as court experts;
• to process applications under statutory and non-statutory obligations;
• to co-ordinate on matters relating to support to victims of crime;
• to review and report on the performance and efficiency of the courts and tribunals involved in the administration of justice and to collect, maintain and analyse statistics related thereto;
• to liaise with any commission, tribunal, department or other entity on matters relating to justice;
• to facilitate the appointment or re appointment of Chairpersons and Members on Boards and Tribunals related to the justice sector;
• to lead the implementation of projects and initiatives falling within the Department’s remit;
• to monitor the Justice Scoreboard of the European Commission;
• to propose and embark on projects to improve the efficiency and the quality of the justice system.

Office of the Notary to Government

The Office of the Notary to Government and Notarial Archives make up a single Government Department established by law and is headed by the Chief Notary to Government in terms of law.

The main Archives situated at Mikiel Anton Vassalli Street, Valletta, houses the original notarial deeds by Maltese Notaries, whilst the Archives situated at St. Christopher Street, Valletta, houses the registers (copies) of deeds to which the Chief Notary to Government and Archivist is a Keeper.

In general, the Office of the Notary to Government offers a variety of legal and notarial services to Government entities and the general public at large.

Functions and responsibilities are regulated by the Notarial Profession and Notarial Archives Act (Chapter 55 of the Laws of Malta).